Sign in with Facebook   |  Login   |   Create Account
The Year-Round Source for Monterey Bay EventsThursday Dec 14, 2017Monterey Bay Weather

    SPORTS & RECREATION

    PAOLA BERTHOIN, PUBLISHER/DESIGNER OF PASSION FOR PLACE: COMMUNITY REFLECTIONS ON THE CARMEL RIVER WATERSHED TO LEAD  “LET’S GO OUTDOORS”

    PAOLA BERTHOIN, PUBLISHER/DESIGNER OF PASSION FOR PLACE: COMMUNITY REFLECTIONS ON THE CARMEL RIVER WATERSHED TO LEAD “LET’S GO OUTDOORS”

    Presented by Brickman Marketing at Garland Ranch Regional Park

    June 8, 2013

    Add Review/Comment
    Comment on Facebook

    Author/Publisher/Artist Paola Berthoin, will lead a special Monterey Peninsula Regional Park District “Let’s Go Outdoors” hike on Saturday, June 8th from 1:30 PM – 3:30 PM starting at the Garland Ranch Regional Park Visitor Center. She will lead a gentle hike followed by readings from the IPPY-award-winning book, Passion for Place: Community Reflections on the Carmel River Watershed. She will invite attendees to sketch, write and draw a sensory map of their experience. The event is open to all ages and is free of charge. Participants should bring a journal and drawing materials and meet at the Garland Park Visitor Center which is approximately 8.6 miles from Highway 1 on Carmel Valley Road or one mile west of Los Laureles Grade. To register, go to www.mprpd.org. For more information, call (831) 372-3196. Passion for Place Community Reflections on the Carmel River Watershed will be available for sale prior to the class at the Wildflower Show held that same day, June 8, at Garland Ranch Regional Park.

    Passion for Place (www.passion4place.net) was designed and published by Paola Fiorelle Berthoin. This distinctive book, co-edited by John Dotson, Laura Bayless and Paola Berthoin, and CD features stories, poems, and essays by forty-four community members of the Carmel River Watershed and beyond in Central California plus beautiful paintings, photographs, and drawings. From the top of the watershed out to the ocean, the anthology captures the importance of water and nature, their beauty and serenity, and their capacity to inspire creativity. The book and CD reveal the collective power that stories and natural sounds, paintings, photographs and illustrations have to connect people with each other and the land, rivers and oceans. Passion for Place is a bio-regional book with a global vision that provides a profound and insightful message to anyone around the world who wishes to preserve the beauty of nature in their own community and watershed. In the tradition of John Muir and Rachel Carson, Berthoin and her colleagues are alerting all of us to the significance of reconnecting to the natural world and the importance of healthy rivers as the life-giving source around the globe. In 1999, the Carmel River was determined to be one of the ten most endangered rivers in the United States by the organization American Rivers. The plight of the federally-listed Carmel River steelhead and threatened red-legged frog are but two species dependent on a healthy Carmel River, and were catalysts, in part, for creating this book.

    According to Barbara Mossberg, PhD, “Passion for Place brings together and creates this ethos of watershed consciousness, a community that gives life to mindfulness on living on our Earth--our most expressive humanity of conscience and attentiveness. Passion for Place “…honors the spirit of place, giving an energy and heart and beautiful order to the commitments and conscience of humanity.”

    About Paola Fiorelle Berthoin
    The award-winning artist, Paola Berthoin, was born in London, England, and came to Carmel Valley in 1965 with her mother and three sisters. She is a graduate of Carmel High School and California College of the Arts where she specialized in printmaking, handmade paper and animal drawing. Paola’s deep commitment to living in the Carmel Valley over the past forty-eight years has infused her visionary ways of interpreting the land through painting, writing, and advocacy for all watersheds of the Earth. From owning and running a restaurant when Paola was twenty-four years old to establishing the organization, RisingLeaf Watershed Arts in 2001, and completing Passion for Place in 2012, many seeds of ecological awareness have been and continue to be planted locally and globally.

    Data:

    Passion for Place: Community Reflections on the Carmel River Watershed
    Trade Paper 200 pages includes CD ISBN#: 978-0-9852949-1-5
    $49.50 suggested retail
    Limited Edition Hardbound 200 pages includes CD ISBN#: 978-0-9852949-2-2
    $85.00 sold direct from publisher only

    Drawings by Pamela Takigawa, Anne Greene and Paola Berthoin
    Paintings and photographs by Paola Berthoin

    In keeping with its environmental goals, Passion for Place was printed locally (Watsonville, CA) on 60% post-consumer paper.

    Passion for Place, as well as paintings by Paola Berthoin, are available for purchase at passion4place.net and selected retailers.

    What others say about Passion for Place:

    Barry Lopez, nationally recognized, award-winning author, Arctic Dreams (unsolicited)
    Passion For Place is exquisite. You can feel the River coming off the pages. And the wisdom of the people who belong to it.

    Malcolm Margolin, publisher of Heyday Books, author of The Ohlone Way:
    This intimate book is a model of watershed literature, wind-scrubbed and open, traced with bobcat prints and chickadee song, full of words that join people to their place. While specific to the Carmel River, it reminds all of us that wherever we live the land around us is, and always has been, personal.

    David Cavagnaro, Author of Living Water (unsolicited)
    The book is really a testimony of the immense power of human creativity, in this case a collective demonstration of creativity in honor of love for place.

     


    • At-a-
      Glance

      • Venue Info

        Garland Ranch Regional Park

        700 West Carmel Valley Road
        Carmel Valley, CA 93924

        Full map and directions

      • Admission Info

        Tickets:

        free

      • Dates & Times

        Dates:
        June 8, 2013

        Times:

        1:30 - 3:30

      • Accessibility Info

          Currently, no accessibility information is available for this event.

      • Member Reviews

        There are currently no reviews/comments for this event. Be the first to add a review/comment, and let folks know what you think!

    • Member
      Reviews

    • Media
      Reviews

      • Media Reviews

        There are currently no media reviews for this event.